OPEN UP

TERMS OF SERVICE

IF YOU ARE IN DANGER OR NEED EMERGENCY HELP, CALL 999 OR YOUR LOCAL AUTHORITIES.

Open Up (“Open Up”) is a service provided jointly by The Boys’ & Girls’ Clubs Association of Hong Kong, Caritas Hong Kong, Hong Kong Children & Youth Services, The Hong Kong Federation Youth Groups, St. James' Settlement, in collaboration with The Hong Kong Jockey Club Centre for Suicide Research and Prevention, the University of Hong Kong (collectively, the “operators”, “we” or “us”). Our goal is to help [young] people who live in Hong Kong and aged between 11 to 35 in crisis by connecting individuals with volunteers and/or social workers for crisis support via the web, social media, and SMS. The service is free of charge and is available 24/7 in Hong Kong.

USE OF THIS SERVICE

Before using or accessing the service provided by Open Up (the “Service”), please read the following.

By accessing or using the Service, you agree to these Terms of Service (the “Terms of Service”) and the privacy policy described in the link provided below (the “Privacy Policy”).These Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy are collectively referred to as the “Terms”.

These Terms govern your access and use of the Service. You may contact us by email at info@openup.hk, if you have any questions about these Terms. If you don’t agree to these Terms, you may not use the Service. You can find a list of other hotlines including The Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong 2389-2222, Samaritans Hong Kong 2896-0000, Suicide Prevention Services 2382-0000, Social Welfare Department Hotline 2343-2255, Hospital Authourity Psychiatric Hotline 2466-7350, Caritas Family Crisis Line 18288. If you no longer wish to receive messages, you may opt out at any time by texting the word STOP.

Modification of Terms and Conditions

These Terms may be modified from time to time to make sure that the Service works effectively and in accordance with law. Any changes will be effective immediately upon posting, so every time you access Open Up or the Service, you will be presented with the updated Terms. Your use of the Service after any modification of the Terms have been posted will constitute your acceptance of the revised Terms.

Nature and Use of Information Provided through This Service

Please remember that your participation in Open Up does not constitute medical or mental health care or treatment, and our relationship with you does not constitute an attorney-client relationship, a doctor-patient relationship, or any other sort of professional relationship between a licensed professional and its client. Our Service is not a substitute for professional health care or any other services offered by licensed professionals (e.g. lawyers). We urge you to seek the advice of licensed professionals, particularly your doctor or other qualified health professional with any questions you may have regarding a medical or mental health condition. If you believe you are experiencing a medical emergency, call your doctor or 999 immediately.

RISKS OF USE OF SERVICE

You assume all risk for use of the Service. Open Up and any of its volunteers, social worker, operators, or agents will not be liable for any decisions made, or results of the decisions made, or actions taken, by you or a third party while, as a result of, or after using Open Up , or based on reliance upon the information contained on or provided through Open Up . This includes whether you choose to seek or not seek professional care, or to modify or terminate specific treatment that you are currently receiving based on the information provided by the Service. You agree to indemnify us and hold us harmless for damages arising out of (a) your breach of these Terms, (b) your violation of the law, (c) claims asserted by third parties that you are in breach of these Terms, (d) information provided by you through the Service, or (e) your use of the Service. Without limiting the foregoing, in no event shall Open Up or any of its operators be liable for any special, incidental, consequential, or indirect damages.

The Service is provided on an “as is” basis and “as available” basis. Open Up and its operators expressly disclaim all warranties and conditions of any kind, whether express or implied and make no warranty or representation that Open Up will (a) meet your requirements; (b) be uninterrupted, timely, secure, error-free, bug-free, virus-free, or accurate; (c) be merchantable or fit for a particular purpose; or (d) meet your expectations. The foregoing disclaimers of liability apply to all damages or liability, including those caused by any failure of performance, error, omission, interruption, deletion, defect or delay in operation or transmission, whether for breach of contract, tortious behavior, including negligence, or any other cause of action.

Only Lawful Use

You agree to use Open Up’s service only for lawful purposes, and in a manner which does not infringe the rights of, or restrict, or inhibit the use and enjoyment of this site by any third party. Such restriction and inhibition includes, without limitation, conduct which is unlawful or which may harass or cause distress or inconvenience to any person and the transmission of obscene or offensive material or disruption of normal flow of dialogue while using Open Up’s service.

We may unilaterally terminate your access to the Service at any time, including (a) if you violate these Terms, or (b) we determine that you’d be better served by a different kind of support.

Privacy Policy

Your privacy and security are very important to us.

Please refer to the following link for our privacy policy statement:

https://www.openup.hk/privacy-policy.htm

YOU SHOULD ALSO PROTECT YOURSELF

Despite these protections, the Internet remains an imperfectly secure environment, and we cannot guarantee protection from intruders or interceptors. You agree to use the Service and submit information at your own risk. You agree that Open Up or any of its operators will have no liability regarding unauthorized access. We are not responsible for, and cannot control, what others not affiliated with Open Up do with information you provide to them.

THIRD PARTY SERVICES

You may contact us through approved third party websites, applications, or services (“Third Party Services”). However, these Terms only apply to you and Open Up. We are not responsible for, and make no representations regarding the policies or practices of any Third Party Services.If you contact us through a Third Party Service, you are subject to these Terms as well as the terms and policies of the Third Party Service. We encourage you to review the terms and policies of any Third Party Service you use to contact Open Up. If you do not wish to be subject to a Third Party Service’s terms or policies, please do not contact Open Up through a Third Party Service; instead you should contact us by using our web-based chat platform.

GOVERNING LAW: INTERNATIONAL USERS

These Terms and the provision of the Service is governed solely by, and shall be construed according to, the laws of Hong Kong without giving effect to principles of conflict of law. [ The Boys’ & Girls’ Clubs Association of Hong Kong, Caritas Hong Kong, Hong Kong Children & Youth Services, The Hong Kong Federation Youth Groups, St. James' Settlement, the University of Hong Kong ] and you both consent to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Hong Kong courts over all matters and disputes arising out of or in connection with the Service.

The Service is operated in Hong Kong. If you are located outside of Hong Kong, please be aware that any information you provide will be collected in or transferred to Hong Kong and used in accordance with Hong Kong laws. By using Open Up and/or providing us with your information, you consent to such collection, transfer, and use.

SEVERABILITY: ENTIRE AGREEMENT

If a court finds any provision of these Terms to be invalid or unenforceable, that provision shall be enforced to the maximum extent possible and the remaining Terms shall remain in full force and effect. These Terms constitute the entire agreement between you and Open Up, superseding any other written or oral agreements or understandings.

「OPEN噏」

服務條款

倘若你身處險境或需要緊急援助,請致電999或與本港有關當局聯絡

「OPEN噏」是由香港明愛、香港青年協會、香港小童群益會聯同香港賽馬會防止自殺研究中心及香港大學(以下統稱為“營辦機構”或“我們”)合辦的一項服務。服務宗旨是讓11-35歲面對困境的年青人,透過互聯網、社交媒體或短訊服務,接受義工或社工為他們提供情緒支援。我們全天候24小時向有需要人士提供此項免費服務。

服務使用條件

任何人士如欲使用「OPEN噏」服務(以下簡稱為“服務”),必須先細閱以下詳情。

凡瀏覽或使用此服務者,將被視作同意遵守此等服務條款(以下簡稱為“服務條款”)以及載於下述網址的私隱政策(以下簡稱為“私隱政策”),而此等服務條款和私隱政策以下簡稱為“條款”。

此等條款規管閣下瀏覽及使用本服務。如對這些條款有任何疑問,可電郵至info@openup.hk查詢。若閣下不同意接受本條款約束,請勿使用本服務,並可考慮使用其他機構設立的求助熱線,例如:香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會(電話:2389-2222)、撒瑪利亞會(電話:2896-0000)、生命熱線(電話:2382-0000)、社會福利署熱線服務(電話:2343-2255)、醫院管理局 24 小時精神科熱線(電話:2466-7350)、明愛向晴軒危機專線(電話:18288)。如你不欲接收我們發送的訊息,可隨時輸入「停止」以示退出。

修訂條款及細則

為確保本服務行之有效並符合法規,此等條款會不時修訂,任何修改一經在本網頁刊載則屬即時生效。你每次瀏覽「OPEN噏」或使用本服務時,也可以閱讀最新修訂的條款。修訂之條款上載在本網頁後,如閣下使用本服務,則表示閣下接受有關之修訂。

本服務所提供資料之性質與使用

各位請注意,參予「OPEN噏」並不等同接受醫療/精神治療或保健服務,而閣下與我們之間也不構成律師和委託人、醫生和病人,或其他類別之持牌專業人士和客戶的關係。換句話說,我們的服務並非取代專業醫護人員或由其他持牌專業人士(例如:律師)所提供的服務。耑此呼籲各位應尋求專業意見,尤其是對於生理與心理健康狀況有問題時,應該要向家庭醫生或其他合資格的醫護人士徵詢意見。假若你的健康瀕臨危急狀況,請立刻通知你的家庭醫生或致電999救助。

使用本服務的風險

閣下須承擔使用本服務帶來的所有風險。「OPEN噏」及其轄下的義工、社工、營辦機構或代理人,對於閣下或第三方正在使用「OPEN噏」/使用「OPEN噏」之後/由於使用「OPEN噏」/基於「OPEN噏」所載或提供的訊息,而所下的決定和後果以及所作的行動,一概不須負上責任。當中包括閣下根據本服務提供的資訊而接受或拒絕專業護理、更改或終止已經開始的特別治療。此外,如 (a)你違反“條款”、 (b)你觸犯法律、 (c)由第三方力證你違反“條款”的有關指控、 (d)你透過本服務提供訊息,或 (e)你使用本服務之情況下,閣下同意會給予我們賠償及免除我們承擔賠償的責任。在不影響上述權利下,「OPEN噏」或其營辦機構均無須承擔任何特殊、意外或必然損失的賠償。

本服務是依「現況」及「現有」基礎提供。「OPEN噏」及其營辦機構明確否認所有明示或暗示的保證和條件,並且不保證或陳述「OPEN噏」的服務: (a)能夠達到你的要求; (b)能夠無間斷、準時、安全、無誤、無故障、無病毒及準確;(c) 能夠適合銷售或適用於某一特定用途;(d)能夠符合你的期望。上述免責聲明適用於各種損失和責任,包括故障、錯誤、遺漏、干擾、操作或傳送瑕疵和延誤,無論是否因違約、侵權行為以及疏忽或其他原因造成。

只供合法使用

閣下同意僅在合法用途下使用「OPEN噏」服務,並且不會侵犯、限制或禁止任何第三方瀏覽本網站的權利。該等限制或禁止意指在使用「OPEN噏」服務時做出包括但不限於非法行為,或對任何人造成騷擾、困擾或不便,以及傳送淫褻或令人反感的資訊,或阻礙正常的對話流程。

如果閣下 (a)違反“條款”或者 (b)我們認為另外一些服務更適合你,我們可以在任何時間單方面終止閣下使用本服務。

私隱政策

我們非常重視你的私隱和安全。

請點擊下列連結,參閱我們的私隱政策聲明。

https://www.openup.hk/privacy-policy.htm

閣下也須盡本份保障自己

儘管已經有這些保障,但互聯網仍未達至徹底安全可靠的地步,因此我們無法保證能阻截入侵者闖入系統。閣下同意使用本服務,提供資料時會自行承擔潛在的風險,並且同意如果發生非法闖入系統的事件,「OPEN噏」及其營辦機構無須負責。

第三方服務

閣下可透過認可的第三方之網址、應用程式或服務(以下簡稱為“第三方服務”)聯絡我們。“條款” 只適用於閣下及「OPEN噏」,有關“第三方服務”的政策及行事手法,我們概不負責,也沒有並沒有作出任何聲明。閣下如透過“第三方服務”接觸我們,則須同時受 “條款”及“第三方服務”的條款和政策約束,故此我們建議你重新檢閱該些條款和政策。如不欲受“第三方服務”的條款和政策約束,請正接使用我們的網絡聊天平台。

管轄法律;境外使用者

“條款”及本服務的規則將只受香港法律管限,並須按照香港法律解釋而且不受法律衝 突原則管制。[香港明愛、香港青年協會、香港小童群益會、香港大學]和閣下均同意對於本服務引起或有關連的一切事務和爭議,皆由香港法院的專屬司法管轄權管轄。

本服務於香港營運,若閣下身處香港境外的地方,請注意你提供的資料將會在香港收集、轉移到香港,並依據香港法律使用。一旦閣下使用「OPEN噏」及/或向我們提供資料即表示你同意上述的資料收集、轉移和使用。

可分割性;完整協議

若法院裁定“條款”任何規定無效或不可執行,則該規定將會在最大的許可範圍內執行,而“條款”的餘下部分仍具有完全效力。“條款”構成你和「OPEN噏」之間的完整協議,並取代其他書面或口頭協定或諒解。